I’ve heard: “Unbleached flour paste is used to assure a leak-proof seal on the heads.”
Wine is one of those things celiacs have always assumed to be gluten free… BUT is it really?
First, I have NEVER heard, even from the most sensitive people, that wine has ever bothered(gluten style) anyone.
Here are two links to descriptions on how wine barrels are made. You will notice they use a flour paste to create a leak-proof seal:
On the contrary….
“I’m a winemaker who’s married to a wonderful women who has Celiac. So i know first hand the concerns Celiacs have about food and beverages. I know from my background that if gluten was to get into wine that it is very unlikely from barrels. All high grade barrels are split and are never sealed with any paste, just metal rings and hammers. But I was uncertain of gluten in fermentation products, filter pads, composite corks and fining agents. so out of curiosity I had two of my wines, one with cork the other screw cap, viagra österreich rezeptfrei, both tested for Gluten and they both came back with no detectable amounts of gluten or less than 1ppm. We understand, here at Willowbrook Cellars, that there are still many concerns when it comes to gluten and wine and that is why we decided to get these wines tested.” –Joe Otos from Willowbrook Cellars
My Conclusion: GLUTEN FREE
I’m going to stick with the overall consensus that wine IS gluten free. I’d like to hear form more manufacturers. I’ve never heard of anyone getting “gluten” sick from wine. The barrels are traditionally used over and over again for many decades. Plus, the paste(if used at all) is only used on the top seal of the barrel and would contaminate on such a low level, if at all. I have also heard that only some barrel manufacturers have this practice.
I’m not going to spend a nice day at a winery, an evening with friends, or a night with a cigar worrying about a few parts per million POSSIBLY contaminating my glass of wine.